Press Releases

Team HRC back to business at new Indonesian track of Semarang

Team HRC is en route to the second-largest city of Indonesia, Semarang, to take part in the first-ever edition of the MXGP of Asia – the second of two back-to-back events in the Southeast Asian country. The thirteenth round of the 2018 Motocross World Championship will be held at a brand-new, spectacular red-sand motocross track, one that the team’s standard bearers Tim Gajser, Calvin Vlaanderen and Todd Waters are looking forward to trying aboard their CRF machines.

A few days after his maiden overall win in the MX2 class – with the FOX holeshot, fastest lap of the race and first place in the second moto – Calvin Vlaanderen is ready to jump back aboard the all-new Honda CRF250RW in order to try and keep the momentum going and make some more ground to the top of the standings. In the last five rounds, Calvin was the third top scorer in terms of overall points – tied with Thomas Covington – and was able to make up 37 points from current third-place rider Thomas Kjer Olsen.

At Pangkal Pinang, Tim Gajser narrowly missed out on a podium finish for the second consecutive time, although he managed to move up to fifth place in the championship standings. The two-time world champion has shown great speed – albeit combined with a few too many mistakes – so he is now eager to show more consistency and fight for a top result in both races.

After showing some improvements in the second moto last Sunday, Todd Waters hopes to further improve his performance throughout the whole race distance and aim for the top-10.

The timetable for the MXGP of Asia will be the same as the previous Indonesian round, with all Sunday races moved forward by one hour – 12:15 and 15:10 for MX2, 13:15 and 16:10 for MXGP (GMT +7).

Tim Gajser 243
I’m looking forward to this new round at Semarang. I saw the track on paper and it looks really good, so hopefully we’ll have some fun there. Last weekend we were very close to the podium again, so the goal is to make one step further and get on it!
Tim Gajser

Calvin Vlaanderen 10
It’s really nice to be back in action so soon after what was a memorable weekend for me. I’m really having fun on the bike lately so I can’t wait to get started and hopefully be up there again. We had few days here in Indonesia where I could relax and train at the same time, so I feel ready for this new round!
Calvin Vlaanderen

Todd Waters 42
A new round ahead of us and another opportunity to improve our performance. This is going to be a new track for everyone so I’m looking forward to trying it out and see how we perform. My feeling with the bike is improving and I’m working hard to get my race form back, so I’m excited to see what this weekend brings. I’ve heard it’s going to be very hot this weekend, but we’ll be ready.
Todd Waters

Marcus Pereira de Freitas
HRC General Manager – MXGP
The team and riders are ready for this new event and by the looks of it, it’s going to be very well attended so we hope to do well in front the Indonesian crowd. All riders have done a good job last weekend so the goal is to build on those results and go even better – in the case of Calvin, obviously, a repeat performance! The new track looks fun, and we’re sure our Hondas will be up to the task.
Marcus Pereira de Freitas

Rider Standings
Pos. Rider Num Nation Points Team Constructor
1 Herlings
Jeffrey 84 NDL 533 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
2 Cairoli
Antonio 222 ITA 521 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
3 Desalle
Clement 25 BEL 407 Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki
4 Febvre
Romain 461 FRA 390 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
5 Gajser
Tim 243 SLO 368 Team HRC – MXGP Honda
6 Paulin
Gautier 21 FRA 363 Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna
7 Coldenhoff
Glenn 259 NDL 319 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM
8 Seewer
Jeremy 91 SWI 279 Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Yamaha
9 Van Horebeek
Jeremy 89 BEL 257 Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP Team Yamaha
10 Nagl
Max 12 GER 211 TM Racing Factory Team TM
11 Bobryshev
Evgeny 777 RUS 207 BOS GP Suzuki
12 Anstie
Max 99 GBR 185 Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Husqvarna
13 Lieber
Julien 33 BEL 176 Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Kawasaki
14 Lupino
Alessandro 77 ITA 169 Gebben V Venrooy Kawasaki Kawasaki
15 Strijbos
Kevin 22 BEL 135 Standing Construct KTM KTM
16 Simpson
Shaun 24 GBR 111 Wilvo Yamaha MXGP Yamaha
17 Jasikonis
Arminas 27 LTU 111 Team Honda Red Moto Honda
18 Desprey
Maxime 141 FRA 89 Gebben V Venrooy Kawasaki Kawasaki
19 Searle
Tommy 100 GBR 84 Bike It DRT Kawasaki Kawasaki
20 Leok
Tanel 7 EST 65 A1M Husqvarna Husqvarna
21 Butron
Jose 17 SPA 64 Marchetti Racing Team KTM KTM
22 Guillod
Valentin 92 SWI 54 Standing Construct KTM KTM
23 Paturel
Benoit 6 FRA 40 Kemea Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team Yamaha
24 Monticelli
Ivo 128 ITA 35 iFly JK Racing Yamaha
25 Petrov
Petar 152 BUL 30 Team Honda Red Moto Honda
26 Irwin
Graeme 55 IRE 27 Hitachi Construction Machinery KTM UK KTM
27 Kullas
Harri 151 FIN 15 Wildcard Rider Husqvarna
28 Waters
Todd 42 AUS 14 Team HRC – MXGP Honda
29 Valentin
Ander 920 SPA 8 920 Fly Group Husqvarna
30 Petrov
Ivan 142 BUL 6 Husqvarna 8Biano Racing